May 17, 2022

Our collaborative paper entitled “Zn regulated GTPase metalloprotein activator 1 modulates vertebrate zinc homeostasis” appears in Cell today!  This massive collaborative paper documents the very first zinc metallochaperone, ZNG1, which metalates methionine aminopeptidase-1 under conditions of cellular zinc deficiency.  Congratulations to Katie and Matthew who contributed stunning NMR and key biochemical data that collectively define the structural and thermodynamic underpinnings of Zn chaperone activity!

May 13, 2022

Matthew’s comprehensive chapter entitled “Transition metal homeostasis: Metalloprotein paralogs in the bacterial adaptive response to zinc restriction” has been submitted for publication to the editors for review at Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry III.  Stay tuned!  Congratulations Matthew!!


May 3, 2022

Joe’s protocol paper that outlines a “how-to” guide to cysteine thiol profiling entitled “Protocol for using organic persulfides to measure the chemical reactivity of persulfide sensors” was accepted for publication in STAR Protocols.  Congratulations to both Joe and Dr. Daiana Capdevila for this nice contribution to the literature.

May 2, 2022

Yifan and Katie’s manuscript entitled “Discovery and structure of a widespread bacterial ABC transporter specific for ergothioneine” has been posted as a preprint on BioRxiv and is now under peer review.  Fingers crossed!  Congratulations also to co-authors Dr. Giovanni Gonzalez-Gutierrez and Katherine Legg!

March 23, 2022

Joey was named a winner of the Kindig fellowship which will provide stipend support in his third academic year here.  Joey’s project is focused on structural and dynamical studies of an usual COG0523 enzyme in Acinetobacter baumannii.  Congratulations Joey!!

January 1, 2022

Jamaal Perry, a first year chemistry student and ACS Bridge Program fellow from Hampton University in Virginia, joins the Giedroc laboratory.  Welcome Jamaal!!

January 1, 2022

Katherine Legg, a first-year chemical biology student in Chemistry, from Florida Institute of Technology in Melbourne, FL, joins the Giedroc laboratory.  Welcome Katherine!!

December 2, 2021

Joe’s paper on the structure and reactivity of streptococcal organic persulfide sensor is published today in Nucleic Acids Research.  This paper presents the first structure and chemical reactivity of a family of closely related bacterial CsoR-family persulfide sensors (CstRs).  Congratulations to Joe and our Argentinian collaborator, Dr. Daiana Capdevila, on a beautiful paper.

July 8, 2021

Brenna successfully defends her dissertation work, and will join the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory in Laurel, MD as a postdoctoral fellow.  Congratulations Brenna!

May 15, 2021

Max was named winner of a two-year fellowship from our QCB training program for his studies of GTPase-powered zinc metallochaperones!  Congratulations Max!!